Take It Further Challenge Begun

Today is the day I start working on Sharon Boggon’s March Take It Further Challenge (abbreviated to TIFC from now on). http://sharonb.wordpress.com/take-it-further-challenge/  

Last evening was spent doing some research on how to make a crazy quilt square, as the TIFC colors will be used for this project. 

Speaking of colors, I found a wonderful website that enables us to create color gradations.  All you need is the Hex, RGB or RGB% number and it will blend from any color to any other color.  I used it to blend each color in the challenge, shifting the value from black to white. 

This morning, I made a color blend chart of the challenge colors  in Paintshop Pro – a Corel product  www.corel.com  Paintshop Pro is a  software program I use to edit photos and digital art.  It would be easy for anyone to do in other similar software. 

Here’s how I did it. I opened a new image 8″ x 2″.  I used the pen tool to draw a line of boxes.  The number is up to you.  Mine were 3/4″ square.  Then I cropped the line of boxes, saved it as a new image.  Next, it was copied, and I opened a new image that  was 8″ x 10″.  I pasted that line of boxes 5x, as a new layer, one at a time into the big 8″ x 10″ image.  This let me easily move it in place.  Then it was saved.

Now all you have to do is select each square, and fill it with the color you want.  I put the challenge colors in the middle with the HEX number above it, and then filled in the colors from the color blend website  which is  http://meyerweb.com/eric/tools/color-blend/ 

Most of the challenge colors were placed in the middle, but the dark grey was already so saturated, that I added plain black to the end of the row and filled in with all lighter blends.  A picture of the chart I made for myself is at the end of this post.  Feel free to copy it and save it to your computer if you’d like to use it also.

The plan is to select fabrics from the chart and then embroidery threads, beads, ribbons, laces, etc.. that blend well and some that complement the fabric.  That bit of contrast adds a lot of pizzazz to a piece, and life is so much more fun will a little pizzazz in it. 

Value Graph for March TIFC

5 Responses to “Take It Further Challenge Begun”

  1. paulahewitt Says:

    I’ll have to check out the colour site – thanks. I like the colour graduations you’ve dne – colour is not my strong point. If you are looking for a good blog about CQ – check out Allies in stitches.

  2. MaryjoO Says:

    this is REALLY great — and will be helpful (haven’t started March yet)! Thanks.

  3. MargB Says:

    This is wonderful. What lovely gradations!

  4. lindad1 Says:

    Thanks for such a wonderful site. Now all I need is to get the colors into the dye mixer applet so I can actually create the colors in my own hand dyes.

  5. Helen Ann Says:

    This is a very interesting starting point.

Leave a Reply

