First Bead Making Venture

Last night I attempted to make my first peyote stitch bead.  While it’s not perfect, I enjoyed making it and love the warm, bright colored beads chosen.

Peyote Bead

This first bead was left open on each end – it’s a tube – so that I can thread yarn, other stringed beads, shells, or whatever comes to mind through the center. It’s a versatile shape and am very much looking forward to making it in different sizes and colors. 

My local JoAnns, Etc just so happens to have all their Darice glass beads on sale for 40% off this week.  Was this kismet or what?  I purchased one of each color this afternoon on my way home from attending GVQC,Inc’s monthly meeting.  http://www.gvqc.org/index.html

Our speaker today was Anne Lullie http://annelullie.com/index.html and what wonderfully colorful quilts she makes.  I was intrigued by her most recent mosaic work.  It was spectacular.  They managed to brighten up our dreary Upstate New York weather so much that the sun came out as we left the meeting.  Mere coincidence?  I choose to think not.

She had patterns and some of her wonderful hand dyed fabric for sale, but I resisted because I had already spent a bundle on some of the wonderful textiles Priscilla Kibbee brought home from her recent travels in Vietnam and Guatemala.  Buttons, beads, silks, hand embroideries – it was a fiber lover’s feast at the meeting today.

One Response to “First Bead Making Venture”

  1. paulahewitt Says:

    very nice – I have never thought about using small beads to make a bigger bead!

    your recent purchases sound great!

Leave a Reply

