First Shuttle Tatting Attempt

Yesterday was spent trying to make a tatted motif.  All I can say is I need a lot more practice trying to shuttle tat.  Even with watching the wonderful videos on Sharon’s – from Ontario, Canada – tatted lace site http://www.gagechek.com/slb/  it took me awhile to get the hang of it.  For some reason needle tatting came easily to me, but shuttle tatting is a totally different approach for me, and the results were not pretty.

Tatted motif

Part of the reason was the thread.  Metallic slubby thread is not a good choice for a first attempt.  And as long as I was making the entire process more difficult, I threw in using beads for the first time too.  Not to be out-done, the pattern selected was written for experienced tatters – no detailed instructions. This was destined for failure.

No, it doesn’t look picture perfect, and that’s why I put this photo on my blog.  Not everything comes out the way I want the first time around, and that’s okay.  It takes time and practice to develop new skills and shuttle tatting is a new skill set for me to develop.

Another reason for uploading the photo is to share how I’m going to use this little motif. I’m going to hide the start and end – where the motif spreads out – with some embroidery.  When it’s used in a project, nobody will know that it is a wee bit cockeyed. Well, nobody will know if you all don’t tell on me.  Shhhhhh, this is between us textile artists. 

This motif was supposed to be used for the second fabric postcard in the TIFC, but it is not right for that card.  Who knows where it will be used?  For now, it will take a place in the drawer holding all my little bits of lace, sewing machine free standing lace motifs, and other small textile treasures, waiting for it’s turn to shine.  

6 Responses to “First Shuttle Tatting Attempt”

  1. paulahewitt Says:

    I think posting the less than perfect attempts is a great idea. I do it all the time. Any way it looks cute – wonky but cute – and better than any tatting Ive done (zero!)

  2. Sharon Briggs Says:

    I’m glad my tatting videos help. You can get away with using slubby threads needle tatting because you are forming the stitches on the needle. Shuttle tatting forms the stitches tightly right on the thread itself so there is no room to pull the slubs under the already formed stitches. You have the beads on your core thread. They are more typically used in the picots. You slide all of the beads into the ring thread before you start and slide a bead into the picot as you work. The rainbow earrings on my web site show you lots of places to put beads. If you get stuck you can always give me a shout. http://www.tattedlace.com Sharon from Canada

  3. Jane Eborall Says:

    Well as an aged and very experienced tatter I’m very impressed with your first attempt with a shuttle. Shuttle tattiing is the traditional way of making this lace but not the easiest way as you’ve found!! If you want further help or advice – please contact me via my web site.
    Jane

  4. Diane Says:

    You are ambitious! I’ve been tatting for a while and have never used beads or unusual threads. Congratulations on your first attempt! Sharon is a wonderful teacher!

  5. Gina Says:

    I think you did pretty good for a first time shuttle tatter, bad-choice thread and beads to boot! Stay with it. You have the advantage of already knowing how to needle tat so you know what it’s supposed to look like. You’ll get better.
    🙂 Gina

  6. Liz Says:

    This is very good for a first attempt. I have tatted off and on since I was about 10 and I’ve never been brave enough to try adding beads! This little gem will be perfect when the right project comes along. In the meantime, I guess I’ll have to look at tatting with beads.

Leave a Reply

