Second Shuttle Tatting Attempt

That tatting motif I tried to make last week has resurfaced in a second edition and I decided to crochet a variation of it to see how the two compared. 

Tatted vs Crochet Motif

The tatted motif – on the left – was made with YLI’s Jean thread and the same beads.  It came out much better than my first attempt, and it took a little under an hour to complete.

The crocheted motif – on the right – is more delicate looking to me and it took about 10 minutes to make.  Both designs are about the size of a dime.  Which one do I like better?

Originally, I thought why ever bother tatting?  It’s much quicker to crochet a motif and it came out really pretty.  Then a dear friend – Lona – pointed out that yes, they were similar, but they were different.  There would be opportunities to use both motifs depending on the project.

Am I ever lucky to have her as a friend or what?  She was spot on with that advice, and I couldn’t see it because I was focusing on the amount of time it took to make each motif.

5 Responses to “Second Shuttle Tatting Attempt”

  1. Kerry Says:

    I love the tatted one so much! It is lovely!
    Hugs,
    Kerry

  2. Candi Harris Says:

    Diane, it’s really hard to say which is prettier, they’re both lovely. I love the little picot’s on the tatted one, but then I like how delicate the crochet is too….I guess it depends on where you’re going to use them. Great job on both!
    HUGZ:)
    Candi

  3. judy grant Says:

    Hello Diane, Your second attempt at your tatting is great. Keep tatting. Hugs Judy

  4. Sunny Says:

    As usual Lona is right. Both are great and can be used at different times. It is always nice to learn to tat. Even though crocheting is faster. Thanks for sharing and for the pictures of your yard and the snow.

    Sunny

  5. ginab6 Says:

    hmmm…interesting that you think the crocheted one is more delicate looking. I crochet & tat both but have tatted primarily the past 10 years, although I’m currently crocheting an Irish crochet bag. I always thought knitting, when a lace pattern is used, looked more delicate than crochet and chose it over crochet when making sweaters. Crochet is often denser, but it can be quite lacy. Yes, it’s quick, but it can come apart quickly too. You’ll never have that with tatting unless it’s needle tatting. Needle tatting will unravel.
    🙂 Gina

Leave a Reply

