Sewing and New Meeting

Last night I worked on the hamster cell project started in Rosalie Dace’s 2005 workshop.  It felt so good to start sewing the background.  Hopefully it will be finished before the end of the month and I’ll post a picture. 

It’s nothing like what Rosalie makes, which is good.  Have you ever taken a workshop, and everyone walks out with pieces that look the same?  That’s great for a pattern class, but not so great for a fiber art class.

Rosalie inspires, creates a safe atmosphere for expressing the individual style of each participant, but also manages to guide and teach at the same time.  I have no idea how she manages to do that, but if you ever get an opportunity to take a class by her, please do so.  You will not be disappointed.  You can some of her fiber art at: http://www.fibreworksart.com/Dace.html

This afternoon is the first meeting of a small fiber art group I’m starting on my side of the city.  Most meetings are on the other side of town, start early in the morning – I am not a morning person – have room fees, and while I dearly loved all the people, it was too much for me.

Our local library lets us book a room – for free – and some people will work on their own projects and some will be making Big Bodacious Beaded Buttons – free instructions at: http://tiny.cc/i7CMq

One of the ladies is a terrific tatter, and guess who will be getting a lesson?  I’m bound and determined to make that floral motif properly. 

We’ll also have time for Show and Tell, and critique each other’s work – if critique is desired.  Personally, I find this a very importatnt part of a fiber art group.  Constructive critiques help tremendously.  Sometimes I’m too closely involved with a piece to see how it really appears.  Another set – or 2 or 3 – of eyes is so helpful.

I hope each and every one of you have a wonderful day today. 

Leave a Reply

