Encrusted Crazy Quilt Block Part III

Third day, third seam, and this one will be the last for a bit.  The reason?  I was going to put a motif in the corner and this third seam ended up being more dimensional that I thought it would be.  Oh, I love the seam, but now my 3 motif plan is out the window.  Does that bother me?  Not really.  It’s more fun working on a block that slowly evolves.  As each section of embroidery is added, the block reads a bit differently. 

That might sound funny, but for me, just about anything that is created, has its own voice.  No, I’m not hearing voices.  It’s an instinctual feeling that this piece of fabric, or that button, that shape, etc… is just right for the piece, and it’s very obvious when something is horribly out of place.   

Sometimes a piece is quiet for awhile.  It’s not ready for the next step.  Sometimes, a piece won’t shut up and it keeps you up at night.  Just ask my husband.  I went to bed at 2 am this morning because this third seam just had to be sewn. 

Isn’t it pretty?  It’s totally different from the other 2 seams – more dimensional, metallic, and bright – just like me!  😉  I’m more ample than I used to be, have shiny braces on my teeth, and eternally, cheerfully, optimistic.  Yippee, I found my style. 

This seam started with a length of gold metallic rick-rack, couched in place with variegated DMC cotton using the fly stitch.  Then couched again with a ruby red floss using the herringbone stitch.  The pretty pink flowers are double detached chain stitch, and the other side has a center pistil stitch flanked by 2 straight stitches. 

And here’s a picture of how the entire block now looks:

Hugs…

One Response to “Encrusted Crazy Quilt Block Part III”

  1. Carol B. Says:

    I like your latest seam treatment and the looks of your block.
    I know what you mean about the project talking to you. Sometimes I feel like I’m just channeling.

Leave a Reply

