Encrusted Crazy Quilt Block Part IV

Motif time – happy days.  I love motifs.  There is something wrong with where this one is placed though. 

It was originally going to be in the upper right corner with beads dangling down and across the rickrack seam, but it didn’t look right there.  I moved it to the cream fabric with the gold netting over it, and it didn’t look right there.  Moved it to the black fabric in the upper left – as shown in the picture – and the color is great for that area, but it still doesn’t look right to me.

I posted the picture – even though I know that tatted heart motif won’t stay there – because I wanted to share how I audition motifs.  If it’s right for the area, I can tell immediately.  If it’s not, I don’t try to make it fit. 

Yes, I spent a couple of evenings tatting the motif, but if it’s not used on this block, it will be exactly right for some future project.  Nothing is ever wasted and I thoroughly enjoyed making this motif.  My tatting skills are improving and it’s easier for me to read a tatting pattern now. 

On to auditioning some different motifs, or maybe embroider the silk ribbon garland in the bottom right, then build from there.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

