Encrusted Crazy Quilt Block Part VII

More embroidery was added to my crazy quilt block last night.  There is something about watching Project Runway that gets me inspired to sew. 

I love the free form silk ribbon branch at the bottom left, but it doesn’t flow very well into the crewel embroidery.  This picture isn’t terrific, but I did use some of the same color floss used in the crewel leaves to shade the silk ribbon.  Something needs to be added to that area, but I’ve smack dab run out of ideas.   Any suggestions would be deeply appreciated.

An additional seam treatment was added too.  Light yellow silk ribbon was folded and held in place by lavender floral shaped buttons.  They have a touch of gold on them.  The top portion of the seam is a lazy daisy stitch with an opaque beadlette used for the center stitch and my hand dyed silk thread in shades of blue for the rest of the stitching. 

3 weeks of embroidery and 3 more to go.  The class was 6 weeks long and I want to see what I can accomplish in the same time frame. 

Hugs…

2 Responses to “Encrusted Crazy Quilt Block Part VII”

  1. kerry Says:

    This is really coming along beautifully! So many wonderful things to look at – it is hard to imagine there is space for three more weeks of stitching! Your motifs are beautiful – those lovely leaves and the flower! I love your freeform branch too – no ideas what you could add to it though other than bead berries? lol No ideas – sorry!
    Hugs,
    Kerry

  2. Susan Robinson Says:

    Hi Dianne,
    I know this is a very late comment, but I really just discovered your blog. I wish it were one I could subscribe to so I knew when updates were added. I love your work and how you explain what you did and why and how! 🙂
    This block is gorgeous and your stitching is absolutely perfect…I thought someone said you were kinda ‘new’. Some how, ‘I don’t think soooo VBG!’
    Thanks for sharing your work and the lovely photos!

    Susan
    cqlily

Leave a Reply

