August’s RAFA Meeting

What a great time I had at the monthly Rochester Area Fiber Artist’s meeting Thursday.  It’s the first meeting I’ve been able to attend since April.  My dear husband drove me and picked me up after it, and it was the best present he could have given me.

Show and tell was fabulous as lots of the members had been to Quilting By The Lake, and brought pieces started in classes, plus showed lots of samples from technique classes.  I’m so glad I already own a glue gun because the pieces that came out of one of the technique classes were intriguing.  Everything from napkins to paper towels, coffee filters, tyvek, plastic wrap, felt, brown paper,  and a multitude of other surfaces were being painted and melted to create gorgeous dimensional and ethereal looking bits and pieces.

First up is a picture of a beautifully embroidered piece of art made in Syria:

Syrian emb

To really appreciate it, I cropped and enlarged a small section of it also.  And don’t forget, if you double click on the picture it will enlarge for you.

Syrian emb close up

The embroidery is magnificent – straight stitch, couching, color choices, design – everything about this piece resonated with my soul.  Seeing it, made my day.

Caris showed a couple of works in progress.  The first one is her fabric version of a street scene she photographed inVenice.  I wish I could show you the original photograph next to the fiber piece because it really evokes the lighting of the photography perfectly.  Keep in mind, this is a work in progress.  Hopefully, I’ll be able to share a picture with all of you when it is completed.

CAris Venice street scene
Caris is also working on a scientific quilt for her son.  There are all sorts of symbols and images from the scientific world.  As that was my poorest subject in school, the minute she said what each image represents, it went in one ear and out the other.  LOL  She will be adding a DNA helix – I remembered that!!! – and this also is a work in progress:

Caris DNA quilt
Elaine made a felted fish, and doesn’t it look terrific?  There are beads underneath the fins so the fins will be 3 dimensional.  I’m not sure the photograph does it justice, but it was really well done.

felted fish

Donna took some classes from Rayna Gilman.  She experimented with screen work and used Elmer’s School glue as a resist on some pieces.  It’s especially interesting how she experimented to see how the glue would gradually dissolve to create lighter and lighter images.  Donna thinks outside the box, and tries things that would never occur to most people.  This idea was really great and is another project added to my “To-Try” list. 

Donna from Rayna's class glue resist

And here’s another piece that Donna created:

Donna from Raynas class

There were lots more pieces shown, but I have to get permission from the artists before I post anymore to the blog. 

I dearly wish I could show a photo I took of new quilt made for Genessee Valley Quilt Club, Inc to raffle, but it’s under wraps till the big unveiling on their website.  Then I’ll be able to link to that photo.  Trust me – it’s drop dead gorgeous – a black background with vibrant appliqued and pieced blocks.  It is drama personified.  I hope I win it.  It’s cetainly not for lack of buying tickets, that’s for sure. 

Hugs…

7 Responses to “August’s RAFA Meeting”

  1. Meg Says:

    Dimity- That couching is very like what I saw of in old embroideries from Kosovo. Both were part of the Ottoman empire and you can see a lot of it on old Turkish coats from the time. They’re lovely. The designs are about the same, but done completely in goldwork. Congratulations on seeing that and thank you for phorographing it.

  2. Rose Anne Says:

    WOW thank you so much Diane for the Syria embroidery images – it definitely was STRIKING and beautiful. I also loved that fish later on too!

  3. Carolyn Phillips Says:

    Hi Diane:

    The embroidery is absolutely gorgeous!!! I love those colors, too!! How could anyone who loves to do handwork not be knocked out by it!!!

    Carolyn
    CQI

  4. Aida Costa Says:

    Wow, what terrific pieces!! That Venetian street scene really resonates with me – I was recently in Portugal and I have tons of photos of those typical small, winding streets. I have so many projects lined up based on European architecture. Thanks for sharing these 🙂

  5. Odette Says:

    Thank you for the picture of the Syrian embroidery. I am completely in awe. Most of the time, I don’t “get” what fiber artists do with glue and paper napkins so I guess the feeling can be mutual.

  6. Connie Says:

    Diane – that Syrian needle work is really something. It’s just gorgeous!

  7. Deborah Says:

    I’ve only just found the wonderful picture of the Syrian embroidery. Beautiful! And if you look at traditional Palestinian wedding dresses from the Bethlehem area of Palestine, the chest panel uses identical designs (though not with the figurative content in the circles). They were also under the Ottoman empire and the thinking is that the gold couching was influenced either by Ottoman uniforms, or by ecclesiastical embroidery (Greek Orthodox).

Leave a Reply

