Ogden Art Group Meeting – December 2009

I’ve been very quiet lately as not much fiber activity is happening at the moment.  Instead, I’ve been cleaning and decorating the house for Christmas.  Anybody who knows me, knows that cleaning the house is at the bottom of my priority list.  Oh, the kitchen is usually clean, and I’ve never given anybody food poisioning, so my house is actually not all that bad most of the time, but my Dad made me laugh when he saw our living room.  It’s the first time in 2009 that the dining room table has been cleared off.  It could actually be used for dining.  LOL

Today was the Ogden Art Group meeting and we had a grand time.  We had lots of cookies to share with each other, and Pat kindly gave each of us a small gift wrapped Whittman candy sampler.  That was totally unexpected and very thoughtful of her to think of all us.

Lucy was working on some jewelry she’s making as a Christmas gift, so there are no pictures of that, but trust me, it’s beautiful.  She is a wonderful beader and creates the most elegant jewelry.  The gift recipient will be thrilled with this present.

She also brought a knit outfit she made for her grandchild:


I apologize for the bad picture.  I moved the camera when I clicked the shutter, so it’s pretty blurry, but it’s an adorable outfit.  The little booted leggings are so practical yet so pretty, and the top has a duplicate stitch heart embroidered in the center.   Her grandchild will styling big time when wearing that outfit.

Karen finished an art quilt started a few months ago:


If you go back to the September archives on my blog, you’ll see how this piece  was started when Pat was showing us how to weave fabric strips.  Karen added some spinning beaded areas and it will be included in the upcoming 2010 Rochester Arts and Cultural Center DeCadEnce Show.  My Flight of the Hummingbird quilt will also be included in that show. 

Pat finished her Egyptian vest, and I must have been on a sugar high from all the cookies, because I neglected to take a photo of it.  It was a beautiful vest and I’ll try to get a photo sometime in the future.

I brought some quilt blocks that I started a whole year ago.   This quilt was started a year ago, and while there are a few more blocks finished, I have no idea when this project will be completed. 

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas here.  It’s snowed a few times this week, and the house is all dressed up for the holidays.  I hope everyone is taking time to enjoy the beauty of the season.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

