Changed My SAQA Visioning Goal for 2010

We are experiencing record breaking warm weather in the northeast and I’m enjoying every minute of it.  We can sleep with the windows open at night, the songbirds wake us up in the morning, and we are getting lots of glorious sunshine – all with low humidity.  It doesn’t get any better than this.

The 3rd and last crib quilt for my physical therapist’s babies has been completed:


This is my original design and I enjoyed making this very much.  I love the way the Battenburg doilies create the curves without any curved piecing required.  The borders echo the tulip design in the fabric and was an embroidery design that was in my sewing machine.  I flipped it so the tulip stems were curving in different directions but the tulip heads were all going in the same direction.

You can’t see in the photo, but I used Sulky 12wt cotton variegated cotton thread and Madeira 20wt veriegated cotton thread in different greens.  It’s quite pretty in person and having all the different shades of green makes the stems look more natural.

Now onto what has been bothering me since January 1st.  Some of you might remember that I stated 3 personal goals  I wanted to accomplish in 2010 last January.  Well, my SAQA Visioning Goal was intimidating the bejeebers out of me, so I avoided starting it.  After much thinking, I decided to change it. 

For me, it is more important to accomplish something I’d enjoy learning and working on, than to force myself to stick with an original goal that filled me with dread and trepidation.  So, here is my new “Official Now Posted on SAQA’s Visioning Wiki Space” goal for 2010: to study design principles and learn to combine them in my artwork to create layers of interest.   I’m the only person in the group with that as a goal and am hoping someone else will decided it’s a worthy goal so we can bounce ideas off each other. 

To work towards accomplishing my goal,  I’ve purchased several design books and will work my way through them, chapter by chapter.  I will make a piece every month to show what I’ve learned and applied to my work, and pictures will be posted on my blog, and on SAQA’s wiki space.  It feels so good to be positive about working on this Visioning project now.  A weight has been lifted by simply giving myself permission to change my goal. 

Only 2 pictures from our Florida vacation today.  Both from the Everglades National Park – of alligators of course.  This one looks like it’s taking a “love” bite out of it’s fellow alligator:

 

And this one was way too close for comfort:

I could not get over how close the walking paths were to the alligators.  That is my husband’s foot on the path.  I was way too chicken to get that close.  My excuse?  I have bum knees and can’t run fast anymore.  Hey, I’ll grab any excuse  to avoid saying I really don’t like alligators, and I really didn’t want to get too close to them.  😉

It was hot as all get out when we were there, and we took a couple of breaks because I was beet red from the heat.  Most people perspire.  Not me. I get beet red then pass out, but I did love our time spent in the Everglades.  It was one of the highlights of the trip. 

We were blessed to go on a windy day, so the bugs left us alone, till the Eco Pond site we visited last.  They started biting at dusk, and we were pretty much well ready to leave anyway, so it wasn’t a huge inconvenience. 

Now I’m a city loving person, married to a guy who loves country life.  It really surprised me how much I enjoyed walking through 4 of the trails, and driving all the way through the park.  If we had more time, we would have walked all the trails, and both of us would like to go back to Florida to do just that. 

I thoroughly enjoyed taking hundreds, and I mean hundreds, of pictures of the trees and plants, and some of the birds.   My preference was definitely for the trees and plants though.  I loved the sounds of the Everglades, I loved the peace, I loved the slower pace.  There is something about walking under the tree hammocks that gives you a sense of rightness.   It was an experience I will treasure and remember for the rest of my life. 

My wish for all of you is to experience that sense of rightness in your life. 

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

