Karen Miller’s Katazome Class – Day Two

Another hot, humid day made bearable by turning on a fan.  Don’t ask me why I didn’t turn it on yesterday, because it was downright comfortable in our meeting room with the fan on today. 

We started out the day by selecting silk scarves and then pasting them with our stencils:

 
While they were drying, we started painting the designs we pasted yesterday.  We stirred dry pigments into soy milk – not the kind you buy in the grocery store though.  Soy beans were soaked in water for 6 hours and then put into a blender to create our fresh milk.  The soy protein binds the pigments to the fabric. 

The really nice thing about this techinque is nothing we used was toxic.  I’m used to dyeing with Procion MX. and keeping all my equipment separate from eating utensils.  This was a very nice earth friendly alternative. 

Here is Donna proudly holding up her painted designs for a photo session:

We took a break for lunch, and somehow I missed getting any of Glynnis’ blueberry and peach cobbler.  Actually, it was just too hot for me to eat much.  Would you believe I  lost 3 pounds yesterday?  Shocked the bejeebers out of me when I weighed myself this morning.  Maybe we should market these workshops as weight loss workshops.  LOL

Then it was time for show and tell.  Karen had brought a wonderful assortment of her work to share with us.  The pictures on her website are much, much better than what I took, but I will share a picture of my favorite piece:

Cutting the tree stencil must have taken quite a bit of time, and it was gorgeous in person.

Then more painting on our stretched designs.  I only painted one as I want to experiment with Procion MX dyes and textile paints for the second piece.  Plus, I like working very slowly and thinking out what colors I want to use, so I saved my favorite pasted design to paint at home.  I don’t have a picture of it yet, but will post one tomorrow so you can see my feather design in the second stage.

Next was dyeing our scarves.  We used ColorHue dyes and I can’t say I’m in love with them.  I thought I had rinsed it well.  I was holding up the line of people waiting to rinse their scarves for a long time, so I know it was rinsed properly, but when I folded the wet scarf to bring home, my nice white, crisp pasted design ended up having fugitve dye go into the design.  Also, I had placed the wet scarf on top of my plastic apron for the drive home, and it stained my apron. 

When I got home, I put the scarf  in a container of water, and got yet more back staining on my white design.  While I was disappointed with the scarf, all is not lost.  I’ll overdye the whole thing and see what happens. 

And, I received a consolation prize.  When I looked out my laundry room window this is what I saw:

 Are those fawns adorable or what?  I guess they like the taste of Crimson King maple trees, because you can actually see part of a leaf in one fawn’s mouth. 

I am blessed to live in a very pretty area of Upstate New York.  My husband and I enjoy watching the wildlife walk by our windows.Tomorrow I’ll put up a picture of a critter who likes to play in the front yard. 

I really enjoy keeping photographic records of each stage of a process, and I’m so glad I could share it with all of you.  The pigments need time to cure, so my piece won’t be washed out for a few days.  I’m going to try and wait 7-10 days before I rinse the resist out. 

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

