Another Preemie Hat and Ricotta Lemon Nut Bread

I was up till a little after 1 am EST watching the first few miners being rescued in Chili and making another preemie hat. This one is for a little boy:

 

It took very little time and is made out of another soft Conshohocken yarn I had in my yarn collection.  These are so darn small.  My daughter was 9 pounds at birth, and came home from the hospital in 6 month size clothes, so I have no personal experience holding a small baby.  From the pictures I’ve seen, these hats might actually be too large for the very small preemies though.

Next, I’ll try a hand knitting pattern.  It was another free pattern from www.youcanmakethis.com  It will most likely take me a few days as it is knit with 4 double pointed needles.  It’s been a long time since I’ve knit anything tubular.  My hands will have to relearn how to hold the needles.  There is always that adjustment period where I poke my hands, or my stomach, then lose a needle here or there before I get into the 4 double point needle knitting rhythm. 

I also baked a Ricotta Lemon Nut Bread yesterday:

My husband couldn’t even wait for it to cool off before he had a slice.  The bread was still steaming as he was happily consuming it.  LOL  I used more restraint and waited 10 minutes.  LOL

This is a recipe from an old Polly-O Ricotta cookbook.  The page was torn out and in a pile of recipes I’ve kept for about 30 years. 

Ricotta Lemon Nut Bread

2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1-1/2 tsps baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
6 Tbls melted butter
8 ounces Polly-O Ricotta Cheese
1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
1 tsp grated lemon peel  – I didn’t have any in the house so substituted 1/2 tsp lemon extract.
1/2 tsp almond extract
3/4 cup chopped pecans – Next time I make this I’m going to use slivered almonds.

Preheat oven to 350F.  Grease a 9×5″ loaf pan.

In large bowl, combine the 5 dry ingredients.

In medium bowl, beat together the butter and remaining ingredients, except for the pecans.

Add the dry ingredients and the pecans, stirring just until blended.

Scoop into pan; smooth top.

Bake 50-60 minutes until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Cool in pan on wire rack 20 minutes.

Remove from pan and cool completely.

Makes 1 loaf, about 16 slices.

Enjoy, and Hugs…

Leave a Reply

