3 Cheese Baked Ziti

Okie dokie, here is a picture of the 3 cheese baked ziti I made over the weekend:


Now this is a dish I would not prepare often, and it wasn’t the main portion of my meal, but oh my, was it ever good.  Those sweet red peppers sprinkled on the chicken came from our garden, and the cheese provided much needed calcium.   This type of “comfort food”  tastes wonderful, but it’s not exactly heart healthy.  For those of you who would like the recipe, here it is: 

3 Cheese Baked Ziti

8 ounces dry ziti
1 15 ounce jar of Alfredo sauce – I used Bertolli

Lightly butter your baking dish.  I cook for two, and didn’t want to be eating this all week long, so my pan size was 8 x 8 inches.   This recipe can easily be doubled.

Cook and drain your pasta.  Reuse the pan you cooked the pasta in – who wants to wash a lot of dishes – and add the Alfredo sauce.  Make sure the pan is off the heat, and gently stir the sauce through the pasta.

Place half this mixture in your greased pan. 

Middle Mixture
1 cup of ricotta cheese
1 large egg
2 TBS Parmesan cheese
1 TBS dried parsley flakes

Mix well, and evenly distribute over the pasta you have in your pan.

Spread  the rest of the pasta over the ricotta layer.

Last Layer
Sprinkle 6 ounces of grated Mozzarella cheese over the top.

Bake at 350 degrees – uncovered – for 30 minutes or until it’s nicely browned and bubbly.

There is still enough ricotta cheese left over to make another loaf of lemon nut bread, and this time I’m going to substitute almonds for the pecans.   That will be the end of my first batch of homemade ricotta cheese.  It’s so easy to make, I’ll most likely go into ricotta making business in December for lasagna making time.  LOL

On the textile front, I’m almost finished with the knit preemie hat, and tomorrow I’m making fabric beads, and visiting a friend’s art studio.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

