Visit to Marcia’s Studio and Knit Preemie Hat

Tuesday was a beautiful, sunny day in Upstate New York, and it was a great day from the beginning to the end.  My morning started off with my friend Beth picking me up to drive with her to Marcia DeCamp’s art studio.  I met Marcia a few years ago when she joined Genesee Valley Quilt Club, and we are also members of Rochester Area Fiber Artists.   

She had a fabulous addition built onto her home, and do I ever have a bad case of art studio envy.  It’s hard to see in the photo, but she has sliding walls along the entire length of her studio with shelves behind them:


That’s just a small portion of some of her fabric collection. It’s a good mix of commercially printed fabric and her own hand dyed fabrics.   If you double click on the photo, you might be able to make out the tracks along the top of the photo.  That’s how the walls slide back and forth. 

There are also quite a few tables in her studio, and she is a gracious hostess,who welcomes her fellow textile artists to her wonderful studio for work sessions.   Her cutting table is the perfect height and LARGE, and she also has a long arm quilting machine. 

You might have seen some of her pieces in various shows across the country, and I count myself very lucky to have been able to visit Marcia in her studio this week.

We were joined by Priscilla Kibbee and Jeanne Simpson.  We  had a great time chatting, and working away on our projects.  Jeanne has a website too, but it’s not loading for me tonight, so I couldn’t automatically create a link.  Her url is www.jeannemsimpson.com

Priscilla was working on a striking wall quilt:


Jeanne was joining rows for a quilt she will be teaching at her next retreat:

And by the way, that’s Beth taking pictures too.  Jeanne was laughing and laughing as we all started taking pictures.  We were like a bunch of papparazzi taking photo after photo.  She’s lucky we didn’t damage her eyesight.  LOL

Marcia was working on a portion of a wall hanging, but I didn’t take photos as I think it will most likely be headed for some national venue, and a lot of the shows/galleries do not like pictures of quilts being displayed on the internet before they are accepted.  The colors were wonderful earth tones, my favorite color palette. 

I was making fabric beads and trying to sketch a layout for a quilt that has lingered on my design table for a couple of years.  Inspiration didn’t strike, so it most likely will linger a bit longer.

It was a wonderful day filled with lots of laughter, one of Beth’s cherry pies,  and good conversation.  Thank-you Beth for driving, and thank-you Marcia for opening your studio for us. 

When I got home, I finished knitting the preemie hat:

The yarn is actually a mix of very pretty pastels, but the lighting was bad when I took the photo.

Hugs…

2 Responses to “Visit to Marcia’s Studio and Knit Preemie Hat”

  1. Karla Says:

    I knit baby caps, too! Come visit and see the one I recently made for my grandson at http://www.karlakrafts.com/2010/10/peter-peter-pumpkin-eater.html

Leave a Reply

