Old Tucson Studios, Tohono Chul Park and Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum

It took me 3 days to make the last post, and we’ve been busy seeing the sights here in Tucson.  Hopefully, it won’t take me another 3 days to post this.  I really, really, really need a better way to connect to the internet when we travel.

Old Tucson Studios is a mix of the rich movie history filmed at the studio and corny skits – so corny they are funny.   The actors are great gymnasts and we enjoyed the day – most likely because we like Westerns.  I walked the same streets John Wayne, Clint Eastwood, Kurt Russell and Michael Landon did.  This studio has hosted close to 300 movie and television shows over the last 70 years and we enjoyed seeing clips from lots of them.

The front half of Main Street is original from the late 30’s.  The workers made thousands and thousands of adobe bricks to construct the buildings and it’s a close replica of actual pioneer days.  Unfortunately, the back half of the studio was razed in a fire, but a lot of it has been rebuilt.

This train was used in quite a few movies and I think there are only 1 or 2 still in existence:

Tohono Chul Park is a beautiful desert park in the city.  There are 39 acres and lots of trails, and we walked every single one of them.  It was hot and sunny and after our exploration of the park, we ate in the tea room.  We split a meal as everything I wanted on the menu had been sold out.  It was not an especially good meal, so I’m glad we didn’t have to pay for 2 mediocre meals.

This is a circle of saguaro cacti with a beautiful statue in the middle:

I have lots of close up pictures showing more detail and will post them to the blog when we get back home.

Next was the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum.   Another hot, sunny day and we walked on every trail, and only missed 2 exhibits.  We especially liked the shows in the Warden Oasis Theatre.  The raptor flight in the afternoon was thrilling for people who never see hawks, but we see them all summer long in our own backyard, so while we enjoyed the show, it wasn’t something new to us.  

I didn’t like my lunch at all, but my husband liked his.  Now when I order a grilled veggie wrap, I expect my veggies to be grilled and warm.  Nope, that’s not what I got.  I got a whole bunch of cold – barely grilled – almost raw, diced veggies on a lot of greens – in a wrap.  There were at least twice as many greens as “grilled veggies” and because they were diced, they kept on falling out of the wrap. 

My favorite part of that museum was walking the trails.  I have come to discover I love the dessert.  I love everything about it.  Who would have thought? 

 My least favorite part of the museum is seeing all the animals in cages.  I flat out don’t like zoos.  I know, I know, that is not a popular opinion.  I just hate to see mountain lions in a cage:

There is a mountain lion in the above photo.  If you double click and look at the center  of the photo where there is a little circle of light (that’s a window that people were tapping on to get the lion to turn his head) you should be able to see him.   Unless an animal can not survive in the wild, or is in danger of becoming extinct unless it’s in a zoo, then I don’t like seeing anything in a cage.  Unpopular as that opinion is, it’s mine and  I own it. 

This has limited photos because of the trouble I’m having posting to my blog.  Hopefully, I’ll have one more post before we move to our next destination, because we most likely won’t have internet again for another week – when we reach San Antonio. 

We are having a wonderful time, enjoying all the sun, soaking up the warmth, and I’m using the pool and hot tub every day when we come back to the RV resort after sightseeing. 

Hugs…

One Response to “Old Tucson Studios, Tohono Chul Park and Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum”

  1. Judy Warner Says:

    Arizona looks great. Nice to be reminded. Thanks for managing to post something.

Leave a Reply

