GVQC Diamond Jubilee Challenge Quilt

Happy May to all!!!  I’ve decided to skip trying to post about what I did in April.  I’m not exactly a regular blogger, and at the rate I play catch-up, I’ll never be current.   I did have a great April going to meetings, exercising at the Y, and completing my local quilt club’s challenge project:

 

That is my quilt for GVQC’s Diamond Jubilee Challenge.  We had to use the blue/white/silver specked fabric on the left, or there wouldn’t have been a speck of blue in the entire quilt.  It’s a cool based color, and my preferences are for warm based colors. 

I was pleased with the overall composition, but realized I should have put a very small amount of the magenta in the quilt as a zinger fabric, or toned it down by putting a light grey or blue tulle over it.  One of these days, I’m going to get the composition AND the color just the way I want it.

Three pieces of fabric were made in my paint software.  I do so love Paint Shop Pro. 

The diamond was multiplied and arranged to form a larger diamond – diamond/Jubilee – a natural shape for this celebration.  The blue color from the challenge fabric was used in different values to create that spiral effect. 

The diamonds were again used on the label – unpainted – and used as a border for the label.  This is a picture of the jpg file without all the info printed in the middle:

 
This 60 degree diamond was in the book Simply Amazing Spiral Quilts by RaNae Merrill, and it says “the patterns and drawings in this book are for the personal use of the reader.”  It comes with a CD and is full of all sorts of wonderful designs.  I highly recommend adding this book to your personal library.

The banner with GVQC’s name and year was printed on fabric that had 3 layers of color on it with a wood grain texture.  Then the text was added – in my very favorite font – Wedding Invitation, and I enhanced the text edges so it would pop. 

I’ve been a member of GVQC for a very long time, and thought it would be nice to include some of the pins I’ve collected over the years.  They all represent the many hours I’ve spent volunteering for our quilt shows.  The first pin is from the 90’s when I was also President of the club.  I only used the pins that had blue in them. 

My inspiration for this quilt came from all the people who have been members of GVQC over the years.  They created a community of like minded individuals to share their knowledge, their lives, and their desire to promote the art, and tradition of quilting.  I hope I have done them proud.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

