GVQC 75th Diamond Jubilee Quilt Show

The first weekend in June was my local quilt club’s 75th anniversary and it was celebrated with a most excellent quilt show.  There were over 1,000 quilts in the show, and it took a full day to see everything.  Luckily, it was open for 3 days, so everyone in the community had plenty of opportunity to enjoy the display.

I had 3 quilts in the show and have already posted pictures on the blog, so will post a few that caught my eye for various reasons, because believe me you, each and every quilt was wonderful.

There was a section on quilts from the 30’s and I really enjoyed the hand embroidery on them:

This was displayed by Janis Harper and here is a close up of the embroidery:

 This quilt was displayed by Lois Mae Kuh:

And a close up:


Then there was one made from hankies that was made recently with machine embroidery by Sharon Shusda:

and a close up:


Doesn’t that evoke the same feeling as the 30’s quilts?

Now I wasn’t born in the 30’s,  but I remember doing a lot of the embroidery from that era.  My grandmother would show me how to do the stitches, and I would copy her hand movements.  I didn’t have a care in the world.  

My first embroidery project was making  embroidered tablecloths for our card table.  Remember those?  It seems like everybody had card tables (For those who don’t know what they are, they are portable tables with folding legs that had seating for 4.) and set them up for parties, playing cards, or letting the kids have a place to do crafts.

You could buy the tablecloths at the 5 and 10 stores – which are a thing of the past – and there were a lot of patterns to choose from.  Some were outline embroidery, some were cross stitch, but they all had the patterns stamped on them with a blue ink which was covered by your embroidery threads. 

My grandmother’s  old Victorian house has since been torn down and is now the site of a stadium, but I’ll never forget learning how to sew, knit and embroider in my grandmother’s house.  I was in a surrounding filled with  high tin ceilings, glass doorknobs, a hand cranked coffee grinder on the kitchen wall, inviting smells coming from the stove, and best of all, got to spend one-on-one time with a grandmother who spoke broken English, but managed to convey her love for me, and passed on her love of handwork to another generation.  

Hugs…

One Response to “GVQC 75th Diamond Jubilee Quilt Show”

  1. Vivienne Garforth Says:

    These quilts are truly works of Art. Thank you for posting them on your blog Diane. I especially love the green one.

Leave a Reply

