Round Tuit # 1

Lately, I’ve been reflecting on my to-do list vs my lifespan.  There is nothing quite like turning 60 – which I did this past May -combined with a vision challenge that occurred shortly after, to set a body to thinking.  I have a plethora of books, magazines and journals filled with ideas and projects I’ve been wanting to try, yet they keep piling up.  

It is time – in fact way past time – that I start to explore this wealth of information, ideas and inspiration.   Not everything will be successful.  Not everything will be gallery worthy.  Not everything will be the best work I’ve ever done, but it will be fun to simply relax and enjoy a project just because something about it appealed to me – enough to save an article, buy a book, make a sketch, write down my thoughts, or buy a piece of fabric.  

I’m going to dub this work my Round Tuit projects (According to wiktionary, this is a play on words, from the idiom to get around to it.)  and this is the first one:


Moonflowers by Annette Ornelas was in the July 2010 American Quilter magazine, and it is reminiscent of the turned edges used in a Cathedral Window quilt, but this was totally done by machine.  Now I was sewing this at 2am the other morning – I know, I know, I said I wasn’t going to sew late at night anymore, but I’ve been wanting to try this for a long time, and finally got Round Tuit.  LOL

Anywhoooo, the instructions were excellent – they had to be, remember I was reading them at 2am, and I didn’t make any mistakes, but I’m not too sure I’d make another block.  The reason?  I actually like handwork, and my point accuracy with handwork is spot on.  I’m not as accurate with a sewing machine – the raison d’etre for the button in the center of the block.   I used to be, but I don’t know if it’s my gradually increasing maturity, or my sewing machine that is causing the problem. 

Hmm, that brings up a good idea.  I wonder if I tried making another block with my light-weight-take-to-workshop Janome sewing machine, to see if I’d do better.  The feed dogs on my Pfaff are not what they used to be, and I’ve had trouble with sewing accuracy ever since it followed me home a few years ago.  It does machine embroider beautifully.

Okay, I just talked myself into making another block to see if it’s me or the sewing machine.  I’ll let you all know ASAP.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

