Round Tuit # 03 – Ricky Tims’ Convergence Quilt Started

Round Tuit # 3 is off to a good start.  I purchased Ricky Tim’s Convergence quilt book ages ago, and out of the bookshelf it came this week.  I selected a quilt effect I liked and it required a large scale print.  Would you believe I did not have any large scale prints in my fabric collection?  Everybody who has been to my house, knows I have enough fabric to open a store, so it came as quite a surprise to me.  What I thought were large scale fabrics were half as large as what I needed for this project.  Hrmph

After pondering my lack of the needed fabric, I decided to make some large scale print fabric of my own.  I have enough solid colored fabric so I could dye paint, discharge bleach, stamp my own designs, etc… to create my own unique fabric.  This time I decided to try discharging some black fabric.

I used a 50/50 bleach/water solution, rinsed, washed and did not like how it turned out, so back outside I went for another session of discharging – this time with 100% bleach.  After rinsing, washing and ironing the second attempt, I liked it even less than the first go around.  Throwing caution to the wind, I used it anyway. I really didn’t know how it would work in the quilt, and the only way I was going to find out, was to use it, and make the quilt.  That is exactly what I did:

 

I had no problems selecting the colors, but midway through the assembly I confided to a friend that I hated how it was coming together, and only finished it because of the encouraging words Ricky wrote in his book, “Harmonic Convergence quilts are a bit of a mystery, and part of the fun is letting the magic happen on its own”.   Thanks, Ricky, because without those words, I’m afraid I would have given up on this project.

That single quilt piece might not look like much, but I discharge bleached my fabric trying to create curves, and while the finished quilt will not look exactly like the next picture, it will closely resemble it:

 

Isn’t that lots better?  The face will be lost as each black fabric was discharge bleached with the curves the same, but the spots were randomly scattered over the fabric. That to-me evil face reflecting in the top and bottom half will not be in the completed piece, but the curves will. 

I am so glad I finally got around to making one of these quilts, and will share pictures of the completed top when it is finished.  Taking action with my Round Tuit Projects is extremely satisfying.   Not only am I clearing out the humongous backload of what I wanted to make, I’m also learning so much.  I highly advise tackling your Round Tuit Projects also.

Hugs…

2 Responses to “Round Tuit # 03 – Ricky Tims’ Convergence Quilt Started”

  1. Terry Knott Says:

    Wow, I love your discharged fabric in the design; it made a really cool convergence quilt!! Great idea!

  2. Elaine Ross Says:

    Diane, I like the convergence….I think it is really neat! And I like how you are doing all of these “roun tuits”. I enjoy seeing what you do next!!

    Elaine

Leave a Reply

