RAFA June 2012 Meeting

Last week was our monthly RAFA meeting, and I came away inspired, and warmed by the fellowship of our members.  Eugenia Barnes was there giving quilt appraisals, and we decided to have a picnic and share a meal together also.  Janet organized the food delivery, so a big Thank-You goes out to her.

Beth has been working on improvistational piecing and it is harder than it looks.  We’re so used to using patterns, rulers and matching seams, that free-style piecing can be challenging.  She had 2 quilts to show and they were great, but the back of one of them captured my attention:

I was really impressed by her progress.

 

Julia was working through how she deals with priorites and procrastination, and expressed it in this piece:

Mary had a beautiful piece of fabric and waited till it told her what it wants to be.   It spoke up last month, and here is the beginning of what is going to be a stunning landscape:

Mary Louise is developing a quilt class on design and letting the value of your fabric do the hard work:

Can you believe that is the same pattern?  I love the way her brain works.

 

Sarah put 3 small pieces together into a wall hanging:

The different circle sizes, proportions and arrangement in this piece keeps your interest.

I missed my quilt guild meeting to continue my search for a warm water pool, so no pictures from quilt guild this month.

I enjoyed being a member of my local Y and doing my aqua therapy for the last year.  Then the powers that be, decided to lower the pool temperature.  Anybody who has gone to aqua therapy, or who has arthritis, knows that it is not a good idea to exercise in water colder than 86.  Now the search is on for a warm pool so I can do my 45 minute routine 3 times a week.

If anybody knows of a warm indoor pool in Rochester, NY – so  I can exercise all winter – please let me know.  I’ve visited more places.  They tell you on the phone they have a warm pool, then when you show up in person, you find out no, the pool is not 86.  There are a lot of baby boomers coming along who would benefit from aqua therapy, and if a facility would open with lots of warm water pools, they’d be filled.

Hugs…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

