Lesson 3 Piece from Online Class

This is the piece I made from Lesson 3 of Katie Pasquini Masopust’s Online class:

2-3+DianeM

First off, the border is not red. It’s a nice deep apricot, but for some reason, my camera turned it red. Aside from that, the colors are true to the piece.

I printed the pears out on fabric, and thread painted them a bit with 8 different shades of thread. It could stand a lot more, but I wanted to send this picture off to Katie ASAP. I’m a whopping 3 lessons behind in this class, and need to catch up big time.

The blue fabric is some of my hand dyed fabric, and I crocheted the doily.

I used the Quick Easy Mitered Binding Tool technique for the edges – with the quilte top being 1.5″ bigger than the batting and backing. It worked liked a charm, and you can see a video on this technique by clicking on this link.

It’s been an eventful few days here. Saturday I reinjured my knee while out of town for a wedding. Instead of having fun with my family, I spent the entire weekend in the hotel room with an ice pack on my knee. I’ll be seeing my ortho surgeon in June and most likely having surgery ASAP. Hopefully, this will be resolved once and for all.

On a happier note, today was my birthday, and it was a wonderful day. Lots of phone calls from family and friends, with the requisite singing, followed by a really nice supper with my daughter, son-in-law, and husband. I also got to eat my very favorite dessert – a cassata cake – rum soaked sponge cake with chocolate, cream, frosting, and almonds This is a very rich, very decadent dessert, and I look forward to having some every year on my birthday.

I got to sew, played computer games, read some of a good book, and best of all, spent time with people I love, and who love me. It doesn’t get any better than this.

Hugs…

One Response to “Lesson 3 Piece from Online Class”

  1. Jans Art Quilts Says:

    You had me at the pears, but you hand crocheted the doily…Wow. I bet the actual color of the border really looks good with the turquoise. Hope you get better and Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

