Ogden Art Group – Dual Images

Sue came up with a great idea for this month’s meeting – Dual Images by Dilys Fronks. You can download a pdf file by clicking on the link that gives an introduction to the technique.

Lucy arrived with a few blocks already made:

Lucy Art Deco

She was influenced by the Art Deco movement – especially Erte. I have no clue how to put the accent mark over the last e, but one belongs there. The high contrast colors she selected worked perfectly for this technique.

Sue was working on this:

Sues dual image

And Jan was busy cutting out her stencil pattern:

Jan cutting

I brought a quilting pattern to use as a stencil, but it did not work well. While I didn’t come home with a work in progress, I did learn the ins and outs of how to create the positive-negative images, and my mistake of selecting a design that didn’t work well helped everyone learn which designs worked best.

Sue wanted a mirror image of a pattern, and was experimenting with folding the fusible, and cutting out her design like you would a paper snowflake. We all learned some of her ideas worked well, and one of them ended up with the fusible on the wrong side of the fabric.

It’s so helpful to work on a new technique like this with a group of fellow artists, because everyone approaches the process in a different manner. Sharing what works and what doesn’t is fun when you’re with good friends, and eating yummy cookies. Thank-you Sue for the cookies. 😉

Putting all that new knowledge to work, I made this today:

Fern dual image

Instead of using scissors, I used an Xacto knife to cut some of the smaller pieces, and am very happy with how this turned out. It will be made into a small wall hanging. I love the positive-negative images next to each other. It’s perfect for this Gemini. It’s got that duality thing going for it.

And I totally avoided the fusible possibly being on the wrong side of the fabric by selecting a batik fabric. It looks the same on the front and the back, so I had no problem getting a mirror image of my design.

I hope some of you go get the pdf file and try this for yourself. If you do, please drop me a note and share a picture. I’d love to see what you do with this technique.

Hugs..

Leave a comment