Rincon Country West Quilt Show

I attended the Rincon Country West quilt show yesterday and there were over 140 quilts on display. What I particularly liked were the categories. They had a lot of them, and it was great to be able to vote for the pieces in each category. This way beginners didn’t have to compete with experienced quilters, and machine embroidered quilts had their own category. It was the first time I’ve seen a category just for machine embroidered quilts.

This is a small sampling of what was on display, and the Stack and Whack quilt was put up for you, Beth – the Queen of Stack and Whack quilts in my guild.

Bear

Carpenter Square

Jacket and Purse

Leaves

Machine Embroidered

Modern

Squares

This is the Stack and Whack quilt for those of you who are not familiar with this technique:

Stack and Whack

Stripes

This was not your usual strippy quilt. If you double click on the photo, it will enlarge for you, and you can see those are triangles. I think I know how to piece something like that, but wonder if there is something on the web about this design.

Strippy

Stupendous

And this was the most unusually shapped table runner I’ve ever seen. It was my favorite, and my husband’s favorite was the Dresden plate in the background:

Tablerunners

Turtles

Last, but not least is a picture of the water fountain:

Water Fountain

A retired Hollywood set designer painted the walls and just about everything you can paint in the auditorium. Doesn’t that look 3 dimensional? It’s smooth and flat as can be. I just love how everything in Tucson is decorated. Don’t get me started on the bridges. They are drop dead gorgeous – with not a speck of graffiti on them.

Hugs…

One Response to “Rincon Country West Quilt Show”

  1. dezertsuz Says:

    Wonderful pictures! Thanks for sharing. I grew up in Tucson and miss the whole southern Arizona atmosphere.

Leave a Reply

