Ugly Fabric Challenge 2014 – Subtraction

This week I spent some time working on the Ugly Fabric Challenge from the Yahoo Group MXDyers. Barbara – the list owner – loves to dye fabric, and for the past few years, she has given good sized pieces to members who volunteer to alter pieces she’s not crazy about, and we get to keep them. She calls them ugly fabric, but I loved the piece she sent me:

Original

Isn’t that gorgeous? I hardly ever get the depth she manages – even when I dye at 10%.

I cut the fabric in half, and saved one half for an upcoming project, and divided the other half so I could play with subtracting color and adding color. Today’s picture shows the subtraction piece:

subtraction

This was really an experiment in using 2 discharge chemicals. A few days ago, the entire piece was written on with the Clorox Gel Pen and neutralized with Anti-Chlor. I learned that it’s really hard to get a fine line with the Clorox Gel Pen. You had to squeeze and write at the same time, and there are plenty of blobs on the piece because I flat out don’t have the hand strength to maintain even pressure. No even pressure = no even flow = not great writing.

Today I used deColourant and a paint brush. The size of the writing is smaller and much more readable. If I laid just a little deColourant on the fabric, just a little of the color came off. I really like the lighter purple areas in the writing. I had much more control with the paintbrush, and no hand pain.

If I put a heavier amount of deColourant on the brush, the color was almost totally removed. I used a dry iron to discharge the writing, and if I had used a steam iron, it would have been even lighter. The “my” on the first line is very light because first I wrote it with the Clorox Gel Pen, then 2 days later, used the deColourant on top of it.

Can anybody read the writing? If you double click on the photo it will enlarge for you. Hopefully, some of you will be able to make out what I wrote.

A personal side note about what the writing is following, so if you don’t want to read a touchy-feely story, you can stop reading here.

I’m blessed to have my 95 year old Dad in my life. He still lives independently, and is a joy to be around. I call him everyday, visit him at least once a week, and this morning he told me the most wonderful thing. He said when I step foot into his home, his heart opens up, and I’m like a ray of sunshine entering.

Now 3 days ago, I was wondering what to write on this fabric, and I thought of my Dad. Immediately, the song You Are My Sunshine came to mind. It’s truly amazing that we both think of each other the same way.

I couldn’t make up a story like this if I tried, and while I’m trying to be light-hearted about it here, I have to say, he brought tears to my eyes this morning when he told me that.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

