Ugly Fabric Challenge 2014 – Wrap Up

Playing with this fabric is a bit like eating potato chips. You can’t stop with trying one technique.

After soaking the fabric overnight in cold water – to get the excess dye out of the floral screen print – I was pleasantly surprised that the flower actually was visible:

Dyed floral

Now I pursposely placed that screen over the lightest part of this dyed fabric, but when it was wet, it was not visible at all. I should have waited for it to dry and then ironed, before I said it disappeared. Live and learn. Please double click on the picture, and look on the right side. You should be able to see the floral design well.

I was very unhappy to discover that soaking this fabric overnight in cold water – to make sure all the screen dye was rinsed out – drastically changed the deColourant Plus colors. If you compare this photo with the one from yesterday, you’ll see the green is almost totally gone, the red is much lighter, and the blue is not visible at all. Now I know that deColourant Plus can’t hold up to a long cold water immersion. This is actually a good thing to learn on this project, because I like this product, and now know what order to use it when putting multiple layers on cloth.

There was still lots of fabric below these techniques, so I drew some lines 1.5″ apart from each other, and stitched them with a basting stitch:

Stitched

Then I pulled the stitching to create these gentle gathers, and painted over them with a foam brush, using 1 part Cobalt Turquois Golden Fluid acrylic to 4 parts Golden GAC-100:

Gathers

The fabric was a little over 12″ long scrunched down to 2″. After drying, I removed the stitching and this is what I got:

Finale

I absolutely love the randomness of this. This is a technique I will most likely do again with soda ash soaked fabric and thickened dye. By the way, the white lines will disappear when washed. I use Prismacolor white pencils to draw on dark fabrics, and they wash out easily, leaving no trace behind.

Am I done with this fabric? For now, yes, but if I use this is an art quilt, I can see adding some beads, and some thread work. I do love the turquois against this purple, and think it would be lovely with some copper metal, or that gorgeous rose gold look. Sheesh, now that I’m writing about it, you know I’m going to have to try it.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

