More Dyeing and Finished Table Runner

Ater painting that “ugly” fabric using gathering stitches, I wanted to see what would happen with a piece of silk fabric I had in my collection. This time I sewed straight lines 2″ apart on a fat quarter:

Silk Original

I gathered it down to 2.5″ and used some thickened Procion MX 8147 Deep Purple dye on one side, and a mix of Procion MX 8147 and Dharma 300 New Black on the other side:

Painted

I can’t stop myself from saying, is that not gorgeous?

I added soda ash to the thickend dye, and painted on the fabric while it was dry. Then it was wrapped in plastic, and put outside to batch in the sun for 5 hours.

There is virtually no color run off when you rinse silk – gotta love that – and the result was the beautiful fat quarter. Now what to do with it? It’s too lovely to go back into the fabric collection, and quite frankly, my fabric collection is going to outlast me. It’s about time I use some of the lovelies.

And speaking of lovelies, the table runner is finally completed:

Finished spicy tablerunner

It took awhile to complete the quilting as I used a decorative stitch on my sewing machine. All that double stitching takes longer to complete, but it was worth it. And if anybody will be in the Brockport, NY area, you will be able to see this is person. It will be on display in the A Different Path Gallery from September 5-26, 2014, along with my First in Flight piece.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

