Disappearing 9 Patch and Finished a Bracelet

Yesterday, I hosted a small group of creative friends at my house, and we explored Disappearing 9 Patch as shown on this site. Yes, I’m venturing into the modern quilt genre.

As usual, I skimmed the directions and didn’t follow the 4 + 5 rule. In my defense, I started sewing at 11:30pm, and I’m not all that cognitively with it at that time of night. Some blocks had 4 prints, some 5, some 3, and this is what I ended up with:

9 patch wonder

My version was made with Moda fabrics from 1999, and I ended up with a very soft, very romantic looking disappearing 9-patch.

Fabric choice is everything with this technique. Batiks would be great, Asian inspired designs, solids, just about anything would look great with this. If you used a large print, I’d cut 10″ squares or larger though, so you wouldn’t lose the design when you quarter the 9-patches.

This small piece was made from 6 blocks, and I will make another 3 blocks today so I’ll have a nice sized square. It will be the center for a Comfort quilt. I used 3″ squares as I had a stack of them already cut, but everybody at the meeting was cutting different size squares – all larger. It will be interesting to see how different they will all look.

On the jewelry front, I finished a bracelet I started in June:

random bracelet

This was really easy, and the delay was caused as I was having problems locating beads in my collection with holes large enough for 2 strands of leather cording to pass through. I had to resort to making some tubular peyote stitch beads – which took a little time to make. After making two of them I decided if I wanted to wear the bracelet this year, I’d better go bead shopping. JoAnns had the perfect wooden beads on sale, and a few other goodies, so they came home with me – not quickly.

Here’s what happened. I purchased the beads, paid for them, got home, and they were not in my bag. I didn’t realize it till 11:30pm. What is it with me and feeling the need to be creative at 11:30pm, but having issues at that time of night?

I digress. Of course, I couldn’t sleep after realizing my lovely beads were MIA, so called the store as soon as they opened the next morning. Yup, they had them behind the counter. The sales clerk didn’t put all my purchases in my bag. My husband had our car, so I couldn’t hop in it to go get them. By the time he got home, the store was closed, and then I realized, it was a 30 minute drive to go get those beads, and I’d wait till I had to do other shopping in that area. It was a week before I got back to the store.

Then my natural predispostion to procrastinate set in. The only reason this bracelet got finished was because I had to clear the ktichen table for yesterday’s meeting. And that is the end of the story of my very easy to make 6 week bracelet.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

