Mother and Child

Waaaaaay back in January, a relative had a baby who’s arrival I wanted to celebrate, and I also signed up to join the Bead Journal Project for 2014. A lot late, but finally completed, is my January Bead Journal Project – Mother and Child:

Mother and Child

I used some of my hand dyed fabric, my embroidery machine to sew out the image of a mother kissing her baby’s head in rayon thread, then it sat, and it sat, and it sat around waiting for me to decide how to bead it. A friend was making the Oh My Stars! necklace from Shaped Beadwork & Beyond by Diane Fitzgerald, and I thought the stars would look great as flowers. I ordered the book, made a star/flower and it was way too big and solid for this small 8″ x 10″ piece. Back to the drawing board.

Being a crazy quilter, I have a lot, and I mean a lot of embroidery designs, and thought some of the simpler ones would work well for a beaded project. An antique embroidery book was available online, so I looked through that, selected some designs, resized them, rearranged elements, eliminated some, and came up with the design I beaded on this piece.

It’s simple backstitch beading with Mill HIll glass seed beads in colors 479 and 2017, with luster Miyuki SB in Pale Moss Green size 11/0. The flower centers are double French Knots with 6 strands of DMC rayon floss. The braid came from the wedding department at JoAnns – purchased ages ago. It was sewn down the center of organza ribbon. Out came my seam ripper. Now I have some organza ribbon in my ribbon collection, and the braid is on the piece. Can you tell I save everything?

This piece was stretched over an Artist Series archival quality stretched canvas. They are very reasonable at JoAnns, and just so happened to be on sale this week. Yeah for me!!!

If you’re in the Rochester, NY area, this piece will be included in the Rochester Gem, Mineral, Jewelry and Fossil Show and Sale at the end of the month. I hope some of you will be able to see this in person.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

