Alternate Grid – Attempt # 1

Sometimes when I make something it goes together beautifully. Sometimes it doesn’t, and I thought I’d share with you the starts and stops of a really small, should be easy to create, but has turned out to not be, Alternate Grid quilt.

I spent 3 days drawing arrangements on graph paper as I am totally inept with EQ-7. Hopefully that will change in the future, and you know what? Sometimes I want to use a pencil and graph paper. My computer is not always with me.

alternate grid graph

Simple design, true? I wanted to make this in 4 shades of blue so it could be posted to the international art quilt blog I belong to for the Blue challenge.

Blue is not the predominant color in my fabric collection so I thought I’d dye the four shades I’d like to use for this quilt. We were having unseasonably warm weather last week, so out came the dyes, scale, and chemicals. Strained my brain doing the math, measured everything correctly, (Yahoo), got the exact depth of shades I wanted, BUT I managed to pick up the wrong dye container, and dyed the wrong blue. That was misstep #1.

The weather got back to normal – too cold to batch my fabric outside, and I was too lazy to dig out my dedicated dye microwave, so the blues I dyed are being used for this 12″ x 12″ quilt.

Today, I started piecing it, and it’s simple half square triangles – 3 different sizes, 3 different shades of blue. Easy true? Measured twice, cut once, made a mistake – misstep #2.

Recovered, pieced a few more sections, and I sewed the wide blue strip to the wrong side of the skinny pieced strip – misstep #3. Corrected that, and decided I needed to step away from this “simple” project as I was complicating it beyond words.

This is what I have done so far:

Partially pieced

Tomorrow is a new day, and I’ve reached my quota of 3 things going wrong, so I’m hoping for smooth sewing in my future.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

