Wonky 9 Patch

This week was spent exploring different methods of making a wonky 9 patch square.  Now you’d think this would be easy, but I had a heck of a time trying to be a wonky piecer.

I started by making a traditional 9 patch a little larger than wanted, then placed a square ruler at angles on top of the square, trimmed around the ruler, and voila:

red green straightred and green

I did not like this one little bit, most likely because I used 10″ blocks, and the center block – be it white or a fabric print, was way too prominent.  Attempting to get rid of that large center square, I sliced and diced one of the blocks, and inserted some fabric strips.  Still didn’t like it.

Next, I thought it might work much better if I used uneven fabric squares, or long strips of fabrics cut with a gentle curve:

stripes

Now this might work well, but I used a striped fabric, and it really distracts from the effect I was trying to attain.

Onwards to another idea.  This time I used a 9″ block – 1 solid, 1 print,  placed them on my cutting mat right sides up, then made an angled straight cut:

step 1

Took the print fabric from the bottom right, and sewed it to the solid color piece of fabric on the left, and sewed the bottom pieces together also.  Then another angled straight cut was made on the left.

step 2

Again the fabrics were shuffled, and sewn together:

step 3

Then I made the spectacular mistake of cross cutting these squares into way too many skinny strips.  I didn’t bother sewing them together, as I thought I royally screwed up.  Now that I’m taking the time to reflect on this atempt, I will sew them together.  Like all good fiber artists, I saved the cut fabric.  I’m so glad I did.

Next was a smaller block – 6″, again a solid and a print, cut and shuffled like the last attempt, with only 2 horizontal cuts made:

step 4

Much better proportions.  One set was made with straight cuts, and one set was made with gentle curves:

4 finished blocks

Now this is more like it.  Finally, I got some wonky blocks.

I hope some of you get inspired to get your wonkiness on.  😉

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

