One Of These Is Not Like The Others

This is currently the view out my kitchen windows:

little sunflower

I love sunflowers, and suggested that my husband plant a row next to the lawn, so the entire vegetable garden would be hidden from view.  It’s not that I don’t like seeing the veggies.   I just like seeing flowers more.  If you look at the very top of this cropped photo, you can see the corn stalks, so there is a garden behind that wall of flowers.

Can you see that little sunflower in the center of the photo?  Well, my husband thought it looked out of place, and asked me if I wanted him to pull it out.  Oh no!  Not one little bit.  That little flower is my favorite.

It’s standing tall – well as tall as it could go, but its flower is nice and full, and it’s flowering its little heart out.  Yes, it’s different from the others.  So what?  It’s good to be different.   Diversity is interesting.  Funny how one row of sunflowers could teach all of us to embrace everything nature has to offer us.

And the voting on the question I posed yesterday had a clear cut winner.  Only one person left a comment, but I received plenty of private emails about it, and version 2 is the winner.  I’ll wait another day or two in case I get more votes before I do anything to the piece though.

Thank-you to everyone who contacted me.  It was nice of you to take the time to share your thoughts with me.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

