The 3 Ds and My Telephone Line is Completed

Yup, it’s a 3 D day here – dark, dreary and depressing – weather wise, but I’m riding a caffeine high, so happy as can be.

Lots has happened this past month.  I had a trunk show at Genesee Valley Quilt Club, and was welcomed with open arms, and a very hospitable planning committee.  There was a beautiful table setting with real china, and a pot for hot water and a nice selection of teas.

My lecture was well received, and it was oh so much fun for me to talk about,  and share the quilts I’ve made during the last 39 years of my quilting journey.  Thank-you to everyone who was involved in making my trunk show go so smoothly.

Then the following Saturday the 2015 Whisper Quilts Challenge was revealed from my Fiberistas group.  What an emotional experience that was.  We learned a lot about each other, shared our highs and our lows, and there were some tears along with lots of laughter.

This group of artists is not only talented, they are also supportive both in our artistic and our personal lives.  It is an honor to be part of this group.

Here is a photo of each of the 9 quilts made for my Whisper/Telephone line:

1 Diane

This one started the whole thing.  You might remember I made this 12 months ago for the beginning of the line.  It was inspired by the sew by number cards I played with as a little child.

 

2 Mary

Mary got that first piece, and took a trip down memory lane to 1955 and remembered how much she enjoyed playing with paper dolls.  McCalls is kind enough to have all the issues with the dolls on their website, and Mary made a quilt using that idea.

The little doll is removable, and so are the clothes.  Mary put little tabs on the clothes, just like the paper dolls from years ago, but these are fabric.  She made hangers out of paper clips, so I can change my little doll’s wardrobe.  How cute is this?

 

3 Steph

Steph was inspired by the year 1955.  She looked it up on the internet, and a coral reef park in Florida was established.

I have to admit, when I opened the envelope from this piece, my jaw dropped open.   It was hard to see how this piece was inspired by the paper doll piece, but once the connection to 1955 was made, I got it.

There is a lot of thread work on this piece and a tulle overlay, with shells attached.  It is a textural wonder.

 

4 Janet

This piece was made by Janet, and she followed the sea concept, and it too has a lot of texture created by layer upon layer of lace.  Shells, stones and a piece of rusted metal were added.

Janet added metal to each piece she made, and did a wonderful job of incorporating it into everyone’s quilt.

 

5 Sue

Sue’s piece was next, and she was inspired by the diagonal lines.  There are layers of interest with textiles, and paper, and she stamped the bamboo onto linen fabric.

It’s eerie how this piece actually ties into the first piece.  You see I sat on the floor in my living room, sewing away on my cards with bamboo printed drapes covering the windows.  What a coincidence that she used a bamboo stamp on this piece.

 

6 Frances

Frances was inspired by the diagonal line also, and this piece is actually doublesided, but I didn’t get a photo of both sides, so here is the one with the highest contrast.

She thought she’d create a stone path, and it does look like one, doesn’t it?

 

Julie

Julie saw the stone path, and immediately thought of a garden path, ending at a brick wall.  Now I have a beautiful garden that will never need to be weeded, and be perpetually in bloom.  It doesn’t get any better than this.

8 Kathi

Kathi was inspired by the flowers, and did her version of broderie perse.  It’s a much looser version than the traditional, closely spaced buttonhole stitching used, but it is perfect for this untamed, out of the box flower arrangement.

9 Beth

And this last one was made by Beth.  I love the Oriental feel of this piece, and the fabric used for each element.  The vase has sewing related text, the floral arrangement reflects back on the bamboo curtains I grew up with, the blue color was used in the first piece, and the 3 triangles on the left make this composition sing.

I can not get over how this ended up becoming a cohesive collection.

Thank-you to each and everyone of my friends for taking the time, and using your skills to create such unique pieces of art for me.

Hugs….

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

