Arizona Table Runner

The last project started in Arizona has been completed – the Mystery Quilt project – which ended up being a table runner:

Tablerunner

 

 

I am not a person who enjoys mystery projects. As soon as I finish one step, I want to move on to the second step. With mystery projects, you have to wait till each succeeding step is released. Waiting is not something I enjoy.  I also like focusing on one project at a time, so mystery projects and I have never been compatible.

For some inexplicable reason, I agreed to participate in this mystery project, and am I ever glad I did. I learned about the 10 Minute Block – which I altered as I didn’t like the big expanse of fabric in the corners. I fused strips of contrasting fabric down the middle of those corners, so the scale of all the pattern pieces is similar.

I learned about the Double Diamond ruler too, which was oodles of fun for the interlocking braid strip.

And last but not least, I learned about the Flights of Fancy 5 Minute block. By the way, none of the blocks actually took 5 or 10 minutes. Much debating, much rearranging, and much sewing and un-sewing took place, so I ended up spending lots more time on these simple blocks. Now that I know what I’m doing, these blocks would actually take 5 or 10 minutes to sew, but there had to be over 40 of us in this workshop, and trying to get everybody on the same page, at the same time, was quite a feat.  Our teacher did a great job leading this workshop.

I did change the layout a bit. The extra black strips between the blocks added some length, and the sashing added a bit more.

I am quite pleased with how this table runner turned out. The turned edges of the Cathedral window type blocks, and the braided strip added wonderful dimension, and I like the fabric choices.

Now to finish the quilting on my improv quilt, face it, attach a hanging sleeve, and label. I’ll share a photo of that as soon as I finish it. Hopefully, it will be including in an upcoming exhibit, and then I have a long list of scrap quilts I’d like to make, and garments to make.  Yes, I would like to make some items of clothing for myself.  I find I am drawn to skirts, and don’t have any casual ones in my wardrobe.  When I googled cotton skirts, I was appalled at the prices, so will see if I can manage to make a few – with pockets.  I gotta have pockets.

Hugs…

3 Responses to “Arizona Table Runner”

  1. Stephanie Hundt Says:

    Hi Diane,
    Loved how your table runner turned out. I also didn’t care for the mystery idea but then was very disappointed when I saw the beautiful runners everyone made. I have purchased the ruler and have been watching videos of 5 and 10 minute quilt blocks.
    I have been enjoying your blogs.
    Stephanie
    TE Quilt Group

  2. Lori Raleigh Says:

    Hi Diane!
    This is your Arizona sewing table partner here! I haven’t finished my table runner yet but yours looks so great, I just may have too!
    Im glad I found your blog!
    Lori
    Western Way

    • dianemiller Says:

      Hi Lori,
      How nice to hear from you. Hope all is well with you, and I look forward to seeing you again next year. Diane

Leave a Reply

