Ice Dyeing

I’m currently taking the Ice Dyeing Revealed workshop by Susan Purney Mark and having a grand time dyeing fabric. Now I’ve been ice dyeing for a lot of years, but Susan shows how to create some wonderfully complex patterns pretty easily. It was definitely worth it for me to take this workshop.

I used Pro Chem’s Bronze #5193, Navy #412 and Rosebud #3216 for the following pieces:

Crunch

Diane ET

Diane accordionThe ones on the left had the dye put directly on the fabric, then covered by ice.

Diane powder placement

 

I got deeper colors and lots of dye speckles by using that method, and that was not taught in the class. The ones on the right, used a tip that Susan shared, and then I placed the dye powders on top of the ice. The same colors, in the same proportions were used for both containers, and they were batched for a full 24 hours.

Quite a difference between the two sides, no?

The first picture features fabric that was crunched dyed – which is the only technique I’ve used in the past. You just rumple up the soda ash soaked fabric, and place it in the container.  I was happy with ice dyed crunched fabric, but over the moon with the results from the pieces using the folds I learned in this class.

More pieces are being batched right now, and I used different colors for those experiments. Can’t wait to see how they come out.

 

Hugs…

 

 

Leave a Reply

