Ice Dyeing Again

I was supposed to be with my friends today making covers for our electronic devices, but the heat and humidity got to me. I opened the garage door, and my stomach let me know to stay put, so I did.

On the plus side, I got to photograph the last two ice dyed fabrics:

Diane mandala

Diane 60 degree

A simple twisted mandala, and more complex to create, a 60 degree equilateral triangle. I don’t like the triangle piece at all, and the jury is out about the mandala.

I used a lot, and I mean a lot of Pro Chems Sun Yellow 108. Then placed some of Pro Chems Turquoise 410 next to it. I was hoping for some nice greens, and was worried the Turquoise wouldn’t ice dye, so added a little smidgeon of Dharma’s Cerulean Blue 23. Next to that, I placed some of Pro Chems Deep Purple 8147, reconsidered the purple next to the hoped for green, and added a thin line of Pro Chems Black 629 between them.

Where oh where did the black go? Can you find it in these pieces? I can’t.

Next up is transforming a pink t-shirt. Somehow food spills manage to hit my t-shirt, before they hit the napkin on my lap, so I’ve got 3 that need ­­a little assistance.

For sure, one will be dyed, and the others? I’m thinking stamping with thickened dye for one of them, or maybe applying some lace shapes, or a little embroidery. All I know is I would like to be able to wear these t-shirts in public again.

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

