I’m Back

Yippee!!!  I’m feeling better, and can actually use my sewing machine again.  Everything takes a LOT longer, but I’m sewing.  There are improvements every day, and I’m focusing on each and every forward step, like being able to open a Ziploc bag again, and opening up the refrigerator door.

We so take our bodies for granted.  I am grateful that if I had to break a wrist, at least it’s my left wrist.  I am mega right-handed, and since I now know I’m not going to get full mobility back, at least it’s not my dominant hand.

The first project I completed was Comfort Quilt # 15:

comfort-quilt-15

This is the light colored version of Comfort Quilt #14 that I posted about earlier, and I’m happy with how it turned out.

Comfort Quilt #16 was started, and I’m rethinking the design.  Way too many seams have to match block to block, and I’m not sure I’m up to it.  I can’t pin anything easily right now, and I doubt these seams will match well without being pinned.

I also have two complicated, time consuming hand projects in the works – ones that require tracing around templates, and cutting the shapes out by hand.  They will probably take me a good year or two each to complete, but I’m downright dangerous with a ruler and rotary cutter at the moment.  The only way I can stabilize the ruler, is to bend from the waist, place my entire forearm and hand on the ruler, then carefully roll the rotary cutter along the ruler edge.  I can’t help but think this is not something I should be doing.

Monday, I see my physical therapist, and I’m bringing, fabric, a ruler, a mat, and my rotary cutter with me so he can help me figure out a better way to accomplish cutting fabric.

Hugs…

 

 

Leave a Reply

