Dyeing Again

It’s been 10 months since I’ve dyed anything, and it felt really good to get the MX Procion dyes back out again.  To be truthful, a bunch of them were on the top of my dryer from my last dye session of August 2016, but a broken wrist does impede one from cleaning up.  I’ll grasp at any excuse for being bad about cleaning up my laundry room/dye studio.

 

I’m part of the MXdyers Yahoo group and Barbara issued an Indigo Challenge.  She vat indigo dyed some fabric, didn’t like the grey she was getting, so offered fat quarters to members as long as we added at least 2 steps to the fabric, using only MX Procion dye.
First off,  I loved the fabric as I received it.  I so wanted to use it “as is” in a project, but refrained.  It is gorgeous, is it not?

Original

Sooooo, I started with masking the white pentagon lines with painters tape, and stenciled a design across the fabric using the formula for color #19 in Playful Fabric Printing.   I made a boo-boo at the bottom, and stenciled in the wrong area.  It happens, sad but true.

Unmasked

After removing the blue painters tape from the centers, I really, really wanted to stop here.  I know – from past experience – that I usually love what I do after one change, and hate what I do after the second change.  True to form, I hate the second step.

Sun Yellow

I used a 10% dye concentrate of Sun Yellow, adding soda ash to the container, and experimented with it.  The bottom half of the designs had 8 drops of uncolored soda ash water put on it, and then 8 drops of Sun Yellow dye concentrate.  The top half had 8 drops of Sun Yellow dye concentrate only put on it.  I wanted to see if there would be a difference between applying dye on dry vs wet for this project.

I honestly can’t see much difference between the two, and I really, really, really hate the sun yellow on this piece of fabric.  I was going to go with violet, and was afraid the color wouldn’t have shown up enough.  I should have gone with the violet.  And after I put the drops in the middle, I thought about putting the drops along lines so a star burst effect could be created.  Obviously, my  brain needs to work a little faster than my hand.

It did feel good to get a little dyeing done, and I threw in a couple of fat quarters to use up the black print paste I made, and the Sun Yellow dye concentrate I made.  Nothing goes to waste in my dye studio, and because I had added the soda ash to the containers, they had to be used up quickly.  No pictures of them, but the black print paste yielded a very dark shade of eggplant when I added water to cover the fat quarter in its container, and the Sun Yellow fat quarter is blindingly Sun Yellow.  Trust me, 10% dye concentration gives a very strong yellow.

It’s all good. I learned a lot, tried different ideas, and got my brain back in an MX Procion kind of mood.  😉

Hugs…

Leave a Reply

