TAST 2012 – Buttonhole Stitch

I’m so proud of myself.  I experimented with week two’s TAST stitch – the buttonhole stitch earlier this week.  In fact, the only reason I didn’t post earlier was because my pictures came out too dark.  We had a snow storm yesterday and it was hard to get a decent photo.

Here is this week’s sample:

 
For some reason, I was thinking about spirals, so decided to draw one on my fabric and follow around the line with the buttonhole stitch.  I wanted the spiral drawn line to stand out, so added dimension and strength to the line by adding glass seed beads (Mill Hill Color # 330).

And for those of you who would like to see how I added them, I took some additional photos of the stitching in progress.

Even though this is in the middle of my stitching, imagine this first picture is the start of your buttonhole stitch.  The needle thread is coming up from the back – on the drawn line – and this is the time to add a bead to the needle:


Slide the bead down the thread:


Make a the buttonhole stitch with the needle, and nestle the bead into place with the needle tip:


If you like, you can hold the bead in place with your thumb:


Pull the needle through the fabric, and that’s all there is to it.  Add another bead on the needle, slide it into place, take another stitch and before you know it, you have a beautifully embroidered spiral design. 

I hope you enjoyed seeing what I did with the buttonhole stitch, and my little mini tutorial is helpful.

Hugs…

23 Responses to “TAST 2012 – Buttonhole Stitch”

  1. Raphaela Says:

    Beautiful. I love it.

  2. Jen Says:

    Oh my.. I *love* this look! The beads are a wonderful touch and thank you for the tutorial on how to do it. This stitch really lends itself to the spiral. Beautifully done 🙂

  3. eclecticlamb Says:

    Lovely stitching! Thanks for the tutorial.

  4. Mary Albrethsen Says:

    Wow that is beautiful!

  5. Laurence Martin Says:

    Oh so beautiful! Thanks.

  6. Evelyn Says:

    I love it! I want to try one, You are so creative.

  7. Nordie Says:

    oh this is really well done and looks great! Well done!

  8. Vims Says:

    this is beautiful! thanks for showing how you did it!

  9. Carolyn Sinyard Says:

    Love this stitch. I am making throw pillows for the bed and this is just what I need to accent my current pillow.

  10. Alma Says:

    What a fabulous idea!

  11. Isangel Says:

    Genial!! Queda muy bonito1!! Gracias

  12. jana wilbourn Says:

    wonderful…thanks so much!!!

  13. Cássia Medeiros Says:

    Parabéns, que trabalho lindo! Obrigada por dividir conosco essa maravilha!

  14. Emine Ates Says:

    I love it. Thanks 🙂

  15. Terese Says:

    This a great idea. Thank you for the clear instructions and great photos. Will be searching more of your work.

  16. Suki Lee Says:

    Thank you for Sharing, it is beautiful.

  17. erika heinemann Says:

    how nice and delicate!
    thanks for sharing,
    best regards from Copenhagen
    Erika

  18. Mony Says:

    Me encanta, muy inspirador!!!😃

  19. Margaret Says:

    Beautiful! And informative! Thanks!

  20. Debbie Says:

    Must be a very fine needle…what type do you use ?

  21. judi Says:

    how did you make the spiral please?

    • dianemiller Says:

      I googled spiral shapes, and found one the size I wanted. I traced it onto the fabric with a Clover water soluble blue pen. I hope you give this a try.

Leave a comment